ANDYS…WEEKLY JOURNAL #3

“Here for you when you need us the most”.

#03 (24th Nov, 2008)

NEWSLETTER – Andy’s weekly journal.Andy’s The Listening Service is primarily a counselling service for everyone and anyone to use although it deals mainly with issues dealing with disability. It’s services are open to both able bodied and disabled persons, We look forward to hear from you.

Andys thoughts:

108grumpy2“When you are praying, If you are angry with someone, forgive him so that your father in heaven will also forgive your sins” -Mark 11 vs 25
God Speaks to us in many different ways, This morning was no different. How do I know it was God, and not my imagination, Because it encouraged me, it inspired me and it was just what I needed at that particular point in my life. More importantly it was backed up by Gods word. I was reading a newsletter that came through me door from an old friend Phil Davise, Phil is a bit of a rugby legend here in the Rhondda having played for Llanelli, Newport and Wales in his time and is the inspirational leader of Sporting marvels a Rhondda Faith based charity that work within local Rhondda schools using sportsmen and women from across the waters introducing them to the Christian faith. He wrote-
While God can and does work on our imperfections it seems that he will not entrust great power and great responsibility to the likes of you and me unless he knows that we have a heart that can be trusted.
“When we come up against our mountains, the obstacles of life, Mark 11 say that we can speak to them and they’ll evaporate! imagine reaching the place where you can speak to things and they “move”? Imagine the damage if such power were wielded irresponsibly? You’d have to be rooted and established in Love, otherwise, those who wronged you would be dead meat!”
He goes on to say “When I was young, If someone wronged me, their name found it’s way into a mental “black book”. I never forgot. I remember once getting hit right at the end of a Rugby game and there being no time to seek retribution. It was six years before I came into the company of the bloke who’d hit me. This time, it was a training session, because I’d joined the same club the hitter played for. To me, it made no difference that he was now a teammate I had to have my pound of flesh, I thought it was my due.
Before the stroke I was very tolerant of others and took everything on the chin. Since the stroke I have become very grumpy to an extent that it has become a family joke, I loose my rag quite easily I can be very verbal but never physical I suffer from great anger and frustration that has ruined my private life and made my marriage almost intolerable, combine this with wanting a caring, loving Christian life, to do good and be successful at everything I do. you can see my dilemma. My frustration was eating up my soul and has been tearing me apart. Within the hour I was reading my Bible, searching for confirmation when I came across Matthew chapter 5 verse 43-48
Love all People
You have heard that it is said, Love your neighbour and hate your enemies, but I say to you Love your enemies. Pray for those who hurt you. If you do this, you will be true children of your father in heaven, He causes the sun to rise on good people and on evil people, and he sends rain to those who do right and to those who do wrong. If you love only the people who love you, you will get no reward. Even the tax collectors do that. And if you are only nice to your friends, you are no better than other people. Even those who dont know God are nice to their friends. So you must be perfect as your father in heaven is perfect.
God was telling me that if I want the things that I desire and pray for I will receive them in abundance, but first I have to break free of the shackles that are holding me back. I must forgive those around me even if they do me wrong, I must put right the feelings of anger and frustration Most of my problems was caused by the stroke. Feelings that have festered unchecked for so long and is now holding me back. Only when I learn to let go of these feelings can I expect to receive the great blessings that I seek.

It is hard enough for a disabled person to change careers let alone find a suitable job. This week I am waiting to hear about a job application, which will, I hope ensure that I will be able to work in the community doing the one thing I desire the most. Being able to work with disabled people on an enablement programme even though I have no formal qualification in this field only 43 years of life experience to fall back on and first hand experience of what it was like to be disabled. And a positive outlook Please prays that my application will be successful thank you. – Andy Phillips

Messageboard :

button_joinnowClick on the Join now button & talk to ANDY.

see live sessions below

Thought of the week :
Everyday courage has few witnesses. But yours is no less noble because no drum beats for you and no crowds shout your name. –Robert Louis Stevenson
Good News of the week :
_45209321_sailor_bbc_226Michael Perham, 16, is the youngest person to have sailed across the Atlantic alone. He set out on his latest voyage from Gun wharf Quays, Portsmouth, on Saturday morning. He will be alone at sea for over four months and his only contact with family will be through satellite link-ups. Michael said: “I’m a little bit nervous but otherwise really, really excited. “It’s just the feeling of being completely in control, relaxed and at one with nature. It’s just fantastic. But you don’t look forward to the fact you are alone for about four months.” Psychologists have helped prepare him mentally for the challenges ahead and he said his experience crossing the Atlantic would also stand him in good stead. Money raised from the epic voyage will be donated to Save the Children and the Tall Ships Youth Trust. [ more ]

Three young men having been walking across Britain without any money, camping out and relying on the kindness of strangers to survive. Calling themselves “singing adventurers”, they have taken three major trips in the past three years, sleeping wherever they can and foraging for food. They sing three-part folk songs, ancient and modern, wherever they are welcomed. They “busk in heaving towns, chant in crumbling chapels, and get feet tapping in many a-pub across the land.” [ more ] Submitted by Kantesh G.
Be The Change:
Have you ever been witness to a quiet act of everyday courage?
Mondays :
Leaders aren’t born, they are made. And they are made just like anything else, through hard work. Vince Lombardi
Monday live session.9 till 11 pm, (Please feel free to join me on line).
Tuesdays :
Lots of people know what to do, but few people actually do what they know. Knowing is not enough! You must take action. Anthony Robbins
Tuesday live session 10 till 12am, (Please feel free to join me on line).
Wednesdays :
You have to put in many, many, many tiny efforts that nobody sees or appreciates before you achieve anything worthwhile. Brian Tracy
Wednesday live session 9 till 11pm, (Please feel free to join me on line).
Thursdays :
Nothing is so powerful as an insight into human nature … what compulsions drive a man, what instincts dominate his action. If you know these things about a person, you can touch him at the core of his being. William Bernbach
Thursday live session 10.till 12am, (Please feel free to join me on line).
Fridays :
Any thought that is passed on to the subconscious often enough and convincingly enough is finally accepted. Robert Collier
Friday live session 9 till 11pm. (Please feel free to join me on line).
Saturdays :
Happiness belongs to those who are sufficient unto themselves. For all external sources of happiness and pleasure are, by their very nature, highly uncertain, precarious, ephemeral and subject to chance. Arthur Schopenhauer
Saturday no session today
Sundays Quote :
If you do not express your own original ideas, if you do not listen to your own being, you will have betrayed yourself. Rollo May
Sunday no session today
Sponsor sought :
ANDYS… THE LISTENING SERVICE. Is a faith-based initiative although it is not owned or run by any particular religion, church, group or organisation? It was decided right from the beginning that counselling offered on the web site should be freely available to anyone & everyone, At source. Which would make it both affordable for all and be completely open and above board. We are basically a non-profit making company. That is why we do not ask for gifts or donations although these are always gratefully received. There is always a need for funding.

Especially when we have so many other projects and initiatives that we want to put in place. Our future plans include: Making the website a stand alone Url not connected with word press as present, same goes with the message board. Which we would prefer to be advert free, We would like to fully promote the site, which costs money. We would also like to introduce a dedicated telephone help line and be able to train up volunteer counsellors to work on the web site.

Therefore we have decided to create a stream of revenue through business promotion and sponsorship based on one small advert, which will appear on every weekly journal, and newsletter delivered to members. We have a ever increasing number of visitors (hits on the web site) With the words Sponsored & supported by So and so Ideally this should be a company with vision as well as a social conscience. The sponsors would have no editorial rights. And the ownership of Andy’s will always remain independent. (See example below) If anybody is interestedand want to have in informative chat please e-mail me on andypaulphillips@yahoo.co.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0a0cAndys…The Listening Service
Sponsored & supported by
2nd Chance Project.
cropped-listening-service-walesheader21.jpg
Leave a Reply

